A Uniting Church coeducational independent day and boarding school on Kaurna Country, Adelaide, South Australia

Early Learning to Year 12

Student Achievements - Edition 6 - 2022

Congratulations to the following students on their achievements...

The Westminster Surf Team competed in the School Sport Surfing Championships at Goolwa in Week 10 of Term 1 in some wintery conditions. Congratulations to the following students who made it through to the Semi-Finals:

  • Keira Hunt
  • Ella Makinson
  • Meg Day
  • Stella Senior
  • Jack Bright
  • Byron Robertson

Well done to Toby Sutton and Harry White who made it through to the Finals and placed 3rd. All teams have qualified for the State Championships to be held in Term 2. Good luck!

Scarlett Budgen (Year 7 Jeffries) recently competed at the State Individual Athletics Championship. Scarlett entered the maximum 5 events, Under 12 800m, 400m, 200m 100m and 80m Hurdles.

Scarlett's results were:

  • 800m - Silver (Personal Best of 9 sec)
  • 400m - Gold and State Champion (Personal Best of 3 sec)
  • 200m - Silver (Personal Best)
  • 100m - Bronze (Personal Best)
  • 80m Hurdles - Bronze (Personal Best)

Scarlett won several Eastern District Club awards to finish off her athletic season, achieving 1st U12 Girls, most improved U12 Girl and best U12-U14 Club Athlete. Congratulations Scarlett!

After medalling at the South Australian Track and Field Championships in February, Westminster had five students make the trip to Sydney to compete in the Australian National Track and Field Championships.

  • James McManus (Year 9 Jeffries) competed in the Under 16 800m and 1500m with a Personal Best.
  • Tessa Ebert (Year 9 Carter) won the gold medal in the Under 15 1500m and a silver medal in the Under 15 3000m.
  • Leila Croker (Year 10 Woollacott) competed in the Under 17 javelin and long jump and achieved a fourth place in the hurdles.
  • Jessica McManus (Year 12 Jeffries) won the silver medal in the Under 18 800m and silver again in the 1500m.
  • Angus Hincksman (Year 11 Woollacott) won the silver medal in the Open Age Ambulant 1500m and a bronze in the 800m. Angus broke the U20 T38 record he set at Nationals recently. He ran the 1500m in tough conditions but improved his Personal Best by over two seconds with 4:03.95.

Kayla Graham (Year 12 Fricker) represented SA at the Under 19 Netball Nationals in Hobart during the first week of the holidays. Kayla and her team finished second, going down to NSW by two goals in the final. Kayla was named as the Most Valuable Player for the tournament.

Noah Hunter (Year 7 Heaslip) came first in Gymnastics States Level 5 recently. He received three golds, two silver and one bronze which means he placed in every apparatus. He won the competition overall. This means he will be going up a level and next year will have the opportunity to compete at Nationals

Hriday Patel ('21) won the Way College Prize for the top SACE Chemistry student in 2021. Congratulations Hriday!

Congratulations to Ruby Insanally (Year 8 Kelly) and Isaac Afonso (Year 8 Woollacott) who recently competed in State Championships for trampolining. Ruby came first in both synchronised and individual and Isaac came second in synchronised and third in individual. They will be competing at the Nationals on the Gold Coast. Good luck to you both.

Congratulations to Jessica McManus (Year 12 Jeffries) who has been selected in the U18 Australian team to compete at the Oceania Championships in Queensland this June.

Outstanding Attitude to Study - Term 4, 2021

Austin Hocking (Year 8 Carter)
Keira Hunt (Year 8 Kelly)
Ella Burgess (Year 9 Forder)
Ethan Lewis (Year 9 Woollacott)
Alice Mengersen (Year 9 Kelly)
Sophia Ulanova (Year 9 Heaslip)
Grace Wakefield (Year 9 Kelly)
Jessica Young (Year 9 Woollacott)

Academic Award - Term 4, 2021

Abbie Cross (Year 8 Clark)
Kate Daniel (Year 8 Carter)
Harry Davison (Year 8 Woollacott)
Gerard McGinley (Year 8 Heaslip)
Adelle Parkinson-Need (Year 8 Fereday)
Kaitlyn Pereira (Year 8 Heaslip)
Natalie von Borell Viana (Year 8 Clark)
Cynthia Zhang (Year 8 Clark)
Eva Bratkovic (Year 9 Dunstan)
Joshua Bund (Year 9 Jeffries)
Charlie Edwards (Year 9 Carter)
Ryan George (Year 9 Carter)
Emily Mableson (Year 9 Dunstan)
Lulu Rawson (Year 9 Kelly)
Grace Riches (Year 9 Kelly)
Suhavi Sethi (Year 9 Kelly)
James Young (Year 9 Forder)

Academic Excellence Awards - Term 4, 2021

Mia Argent (Year 8 Jeffries)
Isabella Barnes (Year 8 Woollacott)
Molly Bright (Year 8 Fereday)
Anna Goad (Year 8 Carter)
Jack Parkinson (Year 8 Woollacott)
Janet Wang (Year 8 Fereday)
Zara Chowdhury (Year 9 Woollacott)
Leo Davis (Year 9 Dunstan)
Olivia Fok (Year 9 Fereday)
Nicholas Nick Foster (Year 9 Heaslip)
Sarah Gomez (Year 9 Carter)
Kitty Huang (Year 9 Woollacott)
Evelyn Lin (Year 9 Fricker)
Eliza Maloney (Year 9 Carter)
Michael Pope (Year 9 Forder)
Tehya Russell (Year 9 Fereday)

Education Perfect Languages World Championships 2022

In Term 1, our Language students participated in the World’s Largest Online Languages Competition. Overall, for the three languages (Chinese, German and Japanese), Westminster achieved third place in South Australia out of 81 schools. Congratulations to the following students on their awards.

Bronze Award - for students who achieved over 1000 points during the competition period.

Jack Parkinson
Harry White
Mia Argent
Tobias Brown
Joel Hobbis
Ryan George
Max Van Kruyssen
Joshua Judd
Alexander Gellert
Abbie Solomon
Luke Moriarty
Naite Johnson
Olivia Fok
Sophia Ulanova

Silver Award - for students who achieved over 2000 points during the competition period.

Amahli Siebum
Leo Cretan

Gold Award - for students who achieved over 3000 points during the competition period.

Benjamin Gomez
Aaron Noori

Emerald Award = for students who achieved over 5000 points during the competition period.

Thomas Balfour
Jasmine Gayler
Gerard McGinley

Highest Elite Award - for students who achieved over 10,000 points during the competition period.

Isaac Noori
Yunshan Chai

Isaac and Yunshan answered over 13,000 points during the competition period, placing them in the top 1% of over 208,000 competitors from around the world! Congratulations to all of our participating Language students!