A Uniting Church coeducational independent day and boarding school on Kaurna Country, Adelaide, South Australia

Early Learning to Year 12

Student Achievements - Edition 14 - 2019

Congratulations to the following students on their achievements...

MASA Quiz Night

Earlier this year, four Year 10 students participated in the 2019 Annual Student Quiz Night held by the Mathematical Association of Australia. We would like to congratulate them for winning best overall team in the junior section!

Hriday Patel (Year 10 Carter)
Kai Bigwood (Year 10 Heaslip)
Bradley Daniel (Year 10 Carter)
Lucas Langley (Year 10 Kelly)

Royal Adelaide Show Art and Photography Awards

Congratulations to the following students, who were awarded medals of merit at the Royal Adelaide Show:

For Photography

Jan McGinley (Year 8 Heaslip) merits for the categories Farm Animal & Any Subject Matter
Jack Grundy (Year 10 Heaslip) merits for the categories Drone Photography & Any Subject Matter

For Art

Bella Marchesan (Year 12 Forder) a merit for Digital Illustration

100km Relay Certificates

The 2019 100km Relay was a great success for our Westminster Teams. The Junior Team A came 1st out of four teams, the Open Team came 3rd out of four teams and the Junior Team B came 4th out of four teams.

100km Relay Junior Team A 2019 - 1st Place

Ryan Bell (Year 10 Carter)
Kiera Ross (Year 9 Clark)
Airlie Rouvray (Year 9 Kelly)
Cooper Thomson (Year 10 Woollacott)
Aidan Ross (Year 10 Clark)
Support Crew/Pacer: Jessica McManus (Year 9 Jeffries)

100km Relay Open Team 2019 - 3rd Place

Taj Ward (Year 12 Jeffries)
Ruby Liptak (Year 11 Dunstan)
Caitlin Dyer (Year 10 Fricker)
Campbell Watson (Year 11 Dunstan)
Brodie Eckert (Year 12 Carter)
Support Crew/Pacer: Ella Simpson (Year 11 Woollacott)
Support Crew/Pacer: Loci Skinner (Year 12 Clark)

Charles Hargrave Student Enterprise Awards

The Charles Hargrave Student Enterprise Awards program started in 2009 and is managed by the Westminster School Foundation. These awards give Westminster students in Years 10 or 11 the opportunity to pursue a passion or personal interest by providing funding for them to undertake a project of their own initiative. Up to $8,000 in grant funding is available each year and may be granted to one or more students. The awards were established thanks to a generous donation by past grandparent and successful business leader, Charles Hargrave. Mr Hargrave, who died in 2013, believed very strongly in giving young people the freedom to explore and develop a wide range of interests in life. Since 2009, these unique Awards have funded many diverse projects including sheep shearing courses, providing advanced musical composition software and developing cricket umpiring skills.

This year the panel received more than $43,000 in funding requests from students and once again the selection process was very competitive.

Congratulations to the following students who were announced as the winners of the Charles Hargrave Student Enterprise Award for 2019:

Max Coorey (Year 11 Fricker) $900 – To acquire 3D Printer equipment and associated course fees to pursue a career in CAD, engineering and production.
Declan Kesting (Year 10 Carter) $1,000 – To purchase art supplies to enhance skills and career desire to become a Professional Animator/VFX Artist.
Amy Liew (Year 11 Fereday) $700 – To undertake a University Clinical Aptitude Test (UCAT) to prepare for studying Medicine.
Angus Llewellyn (Year 11 Heaslip) $1,225 – To undertake an Artificial Insemination course for Cattle and purchase relevant equipment to pursue his career passion for agriculture and livestock production.
Amy McDonald (Year 11 Forder) $522 – To purchase a set of high quality Chef knives and bag to assist with pursuing a career as a Chef.
Emily Nolis (Year 11 Clark) $681 – To purchase equipment to assist a passion of arranging and composing music to further develop the complexity and quality of music she produces.
India Smart (Year 11 Fricker) $1,000 – Funding to cover the costs required to produce and direct a film, including the purchase of professional filming equipment.
Oliver Snoad (Year 11 Kelly) $1,000 – To purchase a DJ Controller to pursue his career desire to produce and perform music.
Rohan Whitford (Year 11 Clark) $500 – Funding to cover the costs incurred to undertake work experience at Swinburne University’s Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing in Melbourne, to further develop his knowledge and skills required for a career in Astrophysics.

Golden Keys Awards

The Golden Keys Awards program started in 2014 and is managed by the Westminster School Foundation. The Golden Keys is a group of up to twenty people who generously contribute each year to the funding required to provide equipment for our elite sporting teams. The objective of this award is to provide financial assistance to Westminster students who are engaged in sport at an elite level. Grants of up to $1,000 are available to enable individual students to progress in their chosen sport.

Congratulations to the following students who were announced as the winners of the Golden Keys Awards for 2019:

Amelia Anderson (Year 11 Fricker) $500 – Support through transportation funding for SASI Netball training.
Quinn Auricht (Year 9 Jeffries) $1,000 – To attend the World 420 Sailing Championships in Portugal in July 2019.
Lucy Austin (Year 12 Clark) $950 – To attend the National U19 Netball Championships.
Nathaniel Drummond (Year 11 Carter) $1,000 – Support through funding to assist with the purchase of a Surf Ski.
Ebony Harper (Year 11 Fricker) $320 – To purchase a new Tennis Racquet.
Angus Higgins (Year 12 Forder) $1,000 – To attend the World 420 Sailing Championships in Portugal in July 2019.
Katie Natt (Year 8 Forder) $1,000 – To purchase a Surf Lifesaving Racing Board to compete at a state and National level.
James Phegan (Year 10 Forder) $1,000 – To compete at the IPSE Australians’ International Competition in Thailand.
Stella Senior (Year 11 Clark) $750 – To attend the SA Junior Surfing Team U16 National Competition in WA.
Callum Smith (Year 11 Woollacott) $500 – Support through transportation funding to swimming training.
Alyssa West (Year 12 Woollacott) $1,000 – To participate in the pre-world Waterpolo Championships Camp in Canberra.