A Uniting Church coeducational independent day and boarding school on Kaurna Country, Adelaide, South Australia

Early Learning to Year 12

Student Achievements - Edition 10 - 2021

Congratulations to the following students on their achievements...

Congratulations to Tom Wheaton (Year 10 Heaslip) who has been selected in the final 30 for SA Under 17 football.

House Music Results 2021

1st - Heaslip 169
2nd - Clark 166
3rd - Fereday 163
4th - Jeffries 162
5th - Fricker 148
6th - Kelly 147
7th - Woollacott 145
8th - Dunstan 139
9th - Carter 133
10th - Forder 130

Enviro-Shark Tank Awards

Two weeks ago the Year 10s currently undertaking the unit on Business & Geography undertook an exciting venture in the Business & Geography Shark Tank Expo. In the audience we had members of our school community, including parents and family, and our sharks comprised of a very impressive array of experience and successful business figures. These captains of industry had lots of insightful advice to share, and are keen to support Westminster students as the innovators and entrepreneurs of tomorrow. It also shows what a supportive and connected community we are blessed to have here at Westminster.

Feedback was given from all people present, including the teachers on the night. All students worked collaboratively, showing 21st century skills of networking, workshopping, and collaborating to build a hypothetical product and company that responded to Geographical and Environmental challenges we are facing here in Australia and beyond. It was tough to decide winners as there were many exceptional presentations. However, the panel have narrowed it down to two winners.

The first category was the Award for Best Geographical responses. For their outstanding effort, the team taking out this award are the ‘Leafy Lounge Enviro Café’. Congratulations to Crystal Ponniah, Grace Thomas, Phoebe Hunt, and Ashtyn Hodge.

The second category was the Award for Best overall Business Pitch, and this went to the fabulous team of ‘DEJAMI INC’. Congratulations to Declan Kolb, Mitchell Cretan, and Jack Richards.

Cross Country Awards

We recently had students from the Prep and Senior Schools head to Oakbank to compete in the Interschool Cross Country Competition.

The following teams finished in the top three:

13 Years Boys: 1st Place Astin Rouvray (Year 7 Kelly), Quinn Hammersley (Year 7 Dunstan), Armaan Chandra (Year 8 Clark), Charlie Bradford (Year 7 Heaslip)

13 Years Girls: 1st Place Tessa Ebert (Year 8 Carter), Emily Mableson (Year 8 Dunstan), Kate Daniel (Year 7 Carter), Marlee Bristow (Year 7 Kelly)

14 Years Boys: 1st Place James McManus (Year 8 Jeffries), Jeremy Shepherd (Year 8 Woollacott), Alex Gellert (Year 8 Heaslip), Zachary Tucker (Year 8 Clark)

15 Years Girls: 3rd Place Katie Natt (Year 10 Forder), Reilly Curran (Year 9 Carter), Lucy Boyd (Year 9 Carter), Georgia Loy (Year 10 Fereday)

16 Years Girls: 2nd Place Jess McManus (Year 11 Jeffries), Emilia Parkinson-Need (Year 10 Fereday), Jess Geraeds (Year 10 Kelly), Jess Kellock (Year 10 Clark)

The following individuals finished in the Top 10:

  • Jess McManus (Year 11 Jeffries) 1st Place 16 Years Girls
  • Katie Natt (Year 10 Forder) 1st Place 15 Years Girls
  • Tessa Ebert (Year 8 Carter) 1st Place 13 Years Girls
  • James Mc Manus (Year 8 Jeffries) 1st Place 14 Years Boys
  • Angus Hincksman (Year 10 Woollacott) 1st Place 13 Years + Boys Multiclass
  • Jeremy Shepherd (Year 8 Woollacott) 2nd Place 14 Years Boys
  • Caitlin Dyer (Year 9 Fricker) 4th Place Open Years Girls
  • Emilia Parkinson-Need (Year 10 Fereday) 8th Place 16 Years Girls
  • Kalan Knox (Year 10 Carter) 9th Place 16 Years Boys
  • Jake Charles (Year 9 Dunstan) 10th Place 15 Years Boys

Certificate III in Public Safety

Natasha Leck (Year 12 Carter) and Cole Wearing (Year 12 Heaslip) completed the Certificate III in Public Safety, as a cocurricular subject, which is open to all people who are keen swimmers or surf life savers. The Certificate III can count towards SACE completion and is a lot of fun. Congratulations Natasha and Cole.

Uni SA Prize

Congratulations to Annie Aldridge (Year 11 Jeffries) who on Tuesday, won the $100 Visa card prize from Uni SA.